HACCP Certification

HACCP stands for Hazard Analysis and Critical Point Control. This system has been designed to evaluate dangers within the food industry, as well as in the production of pharmaceuticals.


This system plays an important role in the world of the food industry. It is based on seven principles, providing safety and prevention from contamination and the spread of any food-borne diseases.


HACCP auditors and experts are certified individuals, who have been trained and who have knowledge of both the basics and the specifics of this safety system. It is good for individuals, who are operating within the food niche, to receive the certification after undergoing a course.


HACCP certified experts have profound knowledge about food safety regulations, the manners in which these are introduced and how they are enforced.


To be eligible for HACCP certification, a person needs to have at least five years of experience within the food industry. The position held should involve some responsibility and control over other employees and the procedures used. A bachelor’s degree within the specific niche will also be useful. The diploma will waive three years of the demanded experience.


Before receiving the certificate, an individual needs to pass an exam. Numerous aid materials are available online. Applicants can also discover sample tests that can help them get prepared for the HACCP examination.


Another alternative is to get enrolled in a course, which provides all of the information that the exam covers. The topics discussed usually include food-borne illnesses, the seven HACCP principles, basic food safety practices, monitoring and control.


The seven HACCP principles are as follows:

  1. Conduct a hazard analysis
  2. Identify critical control points (the steps within the food production and preparation process that can be monitored and controlled to improve quality and guarantee food safety)
  3. Establish critical limits for each critical control point (critical limits are the permissible levels and amounts of hazards that can be tolerated without interfering with the quality of the product)
  4. Establish critical control point monitoring requirements
  5. Establish corrective actions
  6. Establish record keeping procedures
  7. Establish procedures for ensuring the HACCP system is working and independent.


HACCP certified individuals are aware of all the details connected to the principles and the manners in which these are introduced to guarantee the safe functioning of a food facility. Once received, the certificate is valid for three years.

Related posts:

  1. Food Safety Classes

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>